Recap.( 10. April 2023)

It feels surreal to say, but the 30th Willem C. Vis Arbitration Moot is over. We (Filippo Börner and Manuel Constam) wanted to share our thoughts with the community, as well as the people and organizations that have supported us in a multitude of ways!

The first part of this journey was the written phase during which we completed two memoranda. We are delighted to announce that the University of St. Gallen received an honorable mention for the Best Memorandum for Claimant (best 27/378 teams). The second phase was a preparation phase for the general rounds in Vienna – in which we, along with 61 other teams, made it into the elimination rounds. In the end, we managed to progress twice and rank as one of the 16 best teams of this competition!

But the awards aren’t all. We are left with an experience of a lifetime, new friends, and an in-depth insight into the areas of arbitration and the CISG. None of this would have been possible without a large group of people and supporters.

And that is why we want to say thank you. Thank you to Tanja Wohlgemuth, Dominik Hofstetter, Marco Stacher and Jurij Santschi for your support, dedication, and passion for our moot journey. We are incredibly grateful for all the guidance and knowledge you have provided us with, and we couldn’t have done it without you. We also want to thank Prof. Dr. Markus Müller-Chen for providing us with the opportunity of taking part in this competition.

Finally, a big thank you to our sponsors who support the Vis Moot Team of the University of St. Gallen! Bär&Karrer, BianchiSchwald, CMS, Homburger, Lalive, Lenz & Staehelin, Lustenberger, NKF, Pestalozzi, Philip Morris, Vischer, Wenger Vieli and Wartmann Merker.